Skip to content
October 16, 2012 / petrastridfeldt

Picture day 170 – Wind turbines in Denmark

© Petra Stridfeldt

I photographed these wind turbines the other day when driving through Denmark. They are to be seen absolute everywhere in Denmark and I’m pleased to see that some countries actually make an effort to improve the environment. When traveling in Denmark or actually the whole Scandinavia you can feel that the air is so fresh and the colours of the sky is very blue and I assume that has to do with that there are less pollution. I noticed the same when I was travelling in Namibia were there are hardly any industrial units to be seen or traffic for that matter.

Though I know there are some people that do not like these wind turbines, they think they are ugly but I must say that I don’t agree with that. Of course the ultimatum would be if they didn’t need to be there but it a renewable non-polluting resource so I guess we all have to get use to it.

Today wind energy supplies more than 25 per cent of the electricity consumed in Denmark. The goal is to reach 50 per cent by 2020. Read more about Denmark’s wind supplies on: http://denmark.dk/en/green-living/wind-energy/

Basic information on wind energy and wind power technology, resources, and issues of concern.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stephen G. Hipperson / Oct 16 2012 5:52 am

    We have a reasonable presence of wind turbines in the UK, something that is to continue growing. Offshore sites are becoming more common. There is significant opposition to turbine farms in some areas, as people claim they spoil the natural beauty of the landscape, though I’m not sure if it’s more like a touch of ‘not in my back yard’.

    • James Corner / Oct 16 2012 8:50 am

      I agree. I can see the argument for keeping some areas turbine-free but as there is nowhere in the UK that is “natural”, for me the argument that they spoil the natural landscape is silly. We just have to get used to them (although it would help if they weren’t installed in regimented grids as above).

      • Stephen G. Hipperson / Oct 16 2012 10:50 am

        Indeed.
        Did my generation and those before use up all the fuel, did we know that we would use it up? yes to both – therefore we have to accept the consequences if we want to power our lives as we have in the past. rant rant rant. 😉

  2. Dip It Black / Oct 16 2012 11:03 am

    Beautiful picture Petra!
    Love the fact that the turbines are in four straight lines
    and these clouds are beautiful!
    Almost everyone thinks wind turbines are ugly,
    but to be honest, I think they’re beautiful.
    That almost elegant, but strong appearance!

    X
    http://dipitblack.com

  3. Luddy's Lens / Oct 16 2012 7:42 pm

    They’re becoming increasingly common here in the western U.S. as well, and I have to say I think they’re rather beautiful to see — certainly when compared to the traditional power stations and oil rigs. They seem such a peaceful way to harness energy.

  4. hutchphotography2020 / Oct 17 2012 3:50 am

    Very well done. Beautiful black and white image.

  5. cedricreyes / Oct 18 2012 8:37 am

    This photo is amazing. I really like the composition. I live in the city and rarely get to see a true blue sky. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

