Skip to content
October 15, 2012 / petrastridfeldt

Picture day 169 – My mum’s grandma’s house

© Petra Stridfeldt

This is another cottage, which was my mum’s grandma, Emma Johansson’s, cottage. She was born 1865 and she lived here with her husband Johan Adolf Johansson and their 15 children. The cottage is in the deep forest of the province Småland in Sweden.

It might look bigger than it actually is because I have shot it from a low angle but I have been in the house and believe me it’s tiny so it’s unbelievable how 17 people could live here. I love to hear my mum telling me about her grandma who regarding to her was such a good-hearted person. In 1943 Emma got a letter with 20 kronor (£1.80) from the king, Gustaf V, in Sweden for her hard work and unselfish way of living.

Five of Emma’s children immigrated to America and unfortunately there is no information about where in America they settled down but I guess that I have quite a few relatives in America.

The person who owns this house today has kept most of it as it was all these years ago, which makes it very interesting to visit.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Frank de Jol / Oct 15 2012 6:47 am

    Very nice place and the house, and an interesting story.

  2. eldinsmille / Oct 15 2012 12:11 pm

    I like Swedish little houses.

  3. forsythgalleries / Oct 15 2012 2:54 pm

    It’s a gorgeous little house!

  4. steve bohnstedt / Oct 15 2012 7:39 pm

    Nice art/photography. : )

  5. Celia / Oct 19 2012 1:09 pm

    Amazing house and history. As an American, I’m totally envious of such rootedness. I can hardly trace my ancestry that far back to a particular European country, let alone to a particular house.

Leave a Reply

