Skip to content
September 17, 2012 / petrastridfeldt

Picture day 140 – Woman in Morocco

© Petra Stridfeldt

This was shot a few years ago in Morocco. To be honest I wasn’t sure if I would publish it or not. as it doesn’t make my hart to beat faster but I guess if I am going to publish one image a day I can’t be too picky 😉 However, I find the shadows from the palm trees make the photograph slightly more interesting. It will be interesting to hear what you think about it, if there will be anyone thinking anything when seeing the pic 😉

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thesweetkitten / Sep 17 2012 9:41 am

    I like it, especially the shadows!

  2. catrinblue / Sep 17 2012 10:54 am

    I really like this photo. It looks unedited and a moment caught in time. The scale of the figure against the shadow is so right too…….:)

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 20 2012 2:00 pm

      Thanks it makes me glad that you like the photo 🙂

  3. mjculverphotography / Sep 17 2012 12:42 pm

    The shadow make the picture.

  4. Pat Bailey / Sep 17 2012 1:32 pm

    B&W aren’t my favorite but I like this one. I think that the starkness of her surroundings, her full body coverage, and the shadows of the palms come together nicely to portray what would seem to be her life. We know nothing about her from this picture which is very sad, but in that culture you wouldn’t have been able to get more. Thus, the photo seems to tell her story very well but not honestly – which is her life.
    Anyway that’s my take. Does it make sense to you or anyone else?

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 20 2012 2:02 pm

      It certainly make sense thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on the image 🙂

  5. ckponderings / Sep 17 2012 5:02 pm

    Greta shot! 🙂

  6. ag / Sep 18 2012 4:37 am

    I think you underestimate how really wonderful this shot is. Compositionally, there are some very nice things happening in terms of framing, repetitive lines and shapes, and the balance between upward and downward movement. What I like most about it though is the way the shadows, often seen as a metaphor for our hidden selves, echo what the burqa is all about.

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 20 2012 2:04 pm

      Thank you for your interesting comment. I like the way you described the ” the way the shadows, often seen as a metaphor for our hidden selves, echo what the burqa is all about.” 🙂

  7. Lesley / Sep 18 2012 8:55 am

    The sense of scale does it for me.

  8. robschofieldphotography / Sep 18 2012 11:57 pm

    Another ace shot. Composition is fantastic. Plenty of space there and the shadows work as a soft frame. Amazing.

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 20 2012 2:06 pm

      Cheers, I am so happy about all comments so many viewers write on my blog 🙂

  9. Lucid Gypsy / Oct 9 2012 9:37 pm

    I love it, it tells a mystical story.

Leave a Reply

