Skip to content
September 10, 2012 / petrastridfeldt

Picture day 133 – Gunnarsö in Sweden

© Petra Stridfeldt

This is shot in a place called Gunnarsö, just a few minutes from where I lived when I grow up. It is where I spent my childhood swimming in the sea during the summer months and sometimes skating when the ice was thick enough. I never really understood how good my childhood was back then but it hits me nowadays when I see children who grew up in places where there are no forrest, sea or lakes. These children have probably something else but for me it was very important to be outdoor.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ckponderings / Sep 10 2012 6:32 am

    Nice atmospheric image, and a great wording to accompany it! 🙂

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 10 2012 11:19 am

      Thanks a lot especially for the wording as that is not one of my strength 🙂

  2. Mikk Murray / Sep 10 2012 9:02 am

    Beautiful photo!
    What is the structure in the background?:)

    • petrastridfeldt / Sep 10 2012 11:17 am

      Thank you, glad you like it. The structure is a diving tower. I think it is 10 metres high. I manage to jump from 7 metres but I wasn’t brave enough to jump from 10 metres.

      • Mikk Murray / Sep 10 2012 1:35 pm

        Cool, I thought it was a water slide when I saw it!
        Good photos,
        Peace
        🙂

  3. jdtphotography.co.uk / Sep 10 2012 1:00 pm

    A terrific atmospheric image. The board in the distance really makes you look twice at this image. Childhood memories are so important. Thanks for sharing

  4. Thomas / Sep 10 2012 11:10 pm

    I love this! The diving tower looks a bit surreal 🙂

  5. Luddy's Lens / Sep 11 2012 1:08 am

    I love how the trees and the man-made structure play off one another.

  6. indiginz / Sep 11 2012 11:05 am

    a beautiful image and place

  7. Harry Moonbeam / Sep 16 2012 11:07 am

    Wow, I thought that was a rocket launchpad in the background – everything went a bit James Bond for a second.

Trackbacks

  1. Picture day 133 – Gunnarsö in Sweden | Home Far Away From Home

Leave a Reply

